The most important 6 Sentences Sigmund Freud Ever Spoke

(changed my life)

I spent 50+ hours reading Sigmund Freud.

He’s the first person to introduce the “unconscious” mind to us. Since then, it’s been in every Psychologist's mouth & I feel like he doesn’t get the credit he deserves.

He’s the first Psychologist to acknowledge that if we want to change, we need to explore our inner world.

I’m deeply grateful for all the lessons he taught me.

Here are the 6 sentences Sigmund Freud spoke that changed how I view life:

1. “One day, the years of struggle will strike you as the most beautiful”

A message to embrace the suck. To smile amidst the chaos. To enjoy the heck out of the climb.

2. “Before you diagnose yourself with depression, make sure that you’re not surrounded by fools.”

Your environment shapes you—much more than you think. Identify the toxicity sources in your life and get rid of them as much as possible.

3. “When inspiration does not come to me, I go halfway to meet it.”

Creativity, Purpose & Inspiration want to be pursued. Don’t wait for them to come to you.

You need to be curious & be open to receive. Nothing comes when you live with your eyes closed.

4. “Most people do not really want freedom because freedom involves responsibility, and most people are frightened of responsibility”

One thing is certain: There’s no freedom without responsibility.

Just by realizing that you're responsible - 90% of healing is already done.

5. “Being entirely honest with oneself is a good exercise”

Being honest with yourself & others is the greatest thing you can do with your life. It will put you on the craziest adventure you have ever been on.

Scary but so worth it.

So face your shadows & look where you don’t want to look. The deepest hurt is the hurt hidden behind your ignorance.

6. “Unexpressed emotions will never die. They are buried alive and will come forth later in uglier ways.”

Undealt emotions will ALWAYS be expressed in a negative way. Be aware of that.

So do not resist your emotions. Listen to them. They’re energies that want to teach you something.

Sickness starts when you push those energies down.

Final Words

In all my years of studying Psychology, I believe Sigmund Freud taught me the most.

He dared to look into places others didn’t dare to look. His work is truly inspiring & the gratitude for his work is definitely lacking.

I want to thank you for reading to the end. I’m always happy to receive comments, questions & remarks from my readers.

So if you do have one - just reply to this E-mail. I will answer :)

Much love,

Heythem